About Rohit

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Rohit has created 45 blog entries.

Yoga Certification Scheme changes – Everything you need to know

Big changes in Yoga Certification scheme As you know that the Yoga Certification Scheme was shifted from QCI to MDINY last year (April 2018). Then MDINY, Ministry of AYUSH Government of India constituted Yoga Certification Board for the implementation of the scheme. You can find the details about Yoga Certification Board (YCB for short) here. YCB ( Yoga Certification Board) has announced some major changes in Yoga Certification Scheme. These changes were implemented from April 1, 2019. In short, YCB has re-segregated the current levels of Yoga Scheme. It has introduced 3 levels of Yoga Professionals now. As in earlier [...]

2019-10-06T08:33:00+05:30Certification|1 Comment

Yoga for Beginners: All you need to know

Yoga for Beginners Yoga balances, harmonizes, purifies and strengthens the body, mind and soul of the practitioner. It shows the way to perfect health, perfect mind control and perfect peace with one's self, the world, nature and God. ~Swami Vishnu-devananda Firs things first: The best way to learn Yoga is by doing it. The problem is not everyone has a Yoga studio nearby.  Second best option is to use Youtube videos by certain experienced teachers. These days there are apps too, which can help you practice simple sequence in the comfort of your home.  Learning Asana & Pranayama practice via [...]

2023-04-12T11:35:10+05:30KnowledgeBase|Comments Off on Yoga for Beginners: All you need to know

Ashtanga: Eight Limbs of Yoga

Ashtanga - Eight limbed path of Yoga Ashtanga (means eight-limbed) is systematic path of Yoga, by Maharish Patanjali in his work "Yoga Sutra". These eight limbs are not eight steps as usually understood. They are limbs of this particular path of self-realisation. Yoga has focus on development and nourishment of both mind and body, thus these eight limbs are guidelines related to these areas only. Yama Yama are social rules. They are about your should deal with the society around you. Following these person rules for social conduct elevate your mental and moral strength. Yamas are 5 in number. They [...]

2019-01-11T21:25:23+05:30KnowledgeBase|Comments Off on Ashtanga: Eight Limbs of Yoga

Recommended book – Reversing heart disease (read excerpts)

Reversing heart disease I have recently finished reading this book for around 5th time. Reversing heart disease is one such book. Internet is filled with nearly all the information you need. This works well, if you are dealing with a specific question or query. But, when it involves something related to your belief or understanding about 'anything', you need an in depth conversation. Why? Belief is more or less backed by your reasoning and experiences. That is the only way a thought upgrades to belief. Which means to change a belief, the reasoning needs to be satisfied or experience needs [...]

2018-08-31T09:53:56+05:30Health|Comments Off on Recommended book – Reversing heart disease (read excerpts)

How to stay healthy when you don’t have time?

"It takes me 2 hours to reach office. There is no time left to do anything other than a little walk after dinner." This is the reality that most of the people who are living in a metropolitan city and working at a distance of more than 10-15 km. Not many of us are lucky to have an office within 10-15 min drive. This is frustrating.  Here you are working hard to have a life where you can live life the way you want too. Which in most cases you are able to do, unless, it is hampered by the [...]

2018-07-18T20:07:51+05:30Health|Comments Off on How to stay healthy when you don’t have time?

Yoga for back pain: What you need to know

Updated: January 2019 Yoga for back pain Health is Yoga is broadly measured by the health of our spine and by that extension, our complete back. Hence, most of asana practices are designed around spinal movements. Yoga works for back pain. There is no doubt about it. It works by slowly building the necessary movements in spine and areas around it. What it needs is proper understanding of back pain and then practicing accordingly. Depending on the pain itself, the area and physiology, there are certain adjustments that need to be made. Though overall principles of practice remain same ( [...]

2019-01-29T01:02:07+05:30Health|1 Comment

Four paths of Yoga

Table of contents: Intro to four paths of Yoga Jnana(Gyana) Yoga Bhakti Yoga Karma Yoga Raja Yoga Relation between different paths of Yoga The Paths of Yoga The understanding of Yoga has acceptance that as there are different human bodies, so is different human nature. A single approach is not suitable for everyone. As there are different temperament or approaches to life, so are there different paths of Yoga. These paths of yoga are basically main schools which are different from each other with way they approach the concept of practice of yoga. There are many paths of yoga, but [...]

2018-09-20T14:17:44+05:30KnowledgeBase|Comments Off on Four paths of Yoga

One day Fast: Types, Benefits & How to do it

What is a Fast? Keeping a fast means to abstain from food for certain amount of predefined of time. But, as per yogic understanding a fast is different from simply abstaining from food. Fasting in yoga means you plan the duration, activity, timing & diet that you will follow for that period. Also, how to break the fast is also given importance in Yogic fast. Fasting in a cleansing technique. Though it is not a part of shatkarma, it does include certain techniques from these cleansing techniques to maximise the benefits of fasting. Benefits of Fasting Fast, especially one day(24-hour) [...]

2018-05-22T15:28:59+05:30Health|Comments Off on One day Fast: Types, Benefits & How to do it

A complete introduction to ShatKarma

Shatkarma meaning: What are they? Shatkarma are cleansing techniques (shuddhi kriyas). They are recommended to be done to prepare the body for yoga practices. They are named shatkarma because they are six (shat in Sanskrit) in number. In simplest words: these techniques are done to clean the ingestion, digestion, and excretory system of our body. These systems mean the eyes, respiratory system, digestive system & excretory system. Just like when we take bath, we remove dead skin cells and other pollutants from our skin, shatkarma works on cleaning the inside of our body. In the yogic view, the process of [...]

2023-07-13T09:43:41+05:30Certification|10 Comments

Level 1 or Level 2, which one to appear for?

Should I appear for Level 1 or Level 2 of Yoga Certification scheme? With growing acceptance and popularity of Voluntary Yoga certification scheme, more and more yoga professionals are registering themselves for Yoga certification exams. You can see the list published on AYUSH ministry website of qualified Yoga Professionals in both Level 1 & level 2 here (AYUSH Official Website Link). Currently, the certification is available for Level 1 (instructor) and Level 2 ( teacher) only. Level 3 & Level 4 are still being finalised and will be announced soon. Now out of these two certifications, anyone who is teaching for [...]

2023-07-17T18:44:02+05:30Certification|4 Comments
Go to Top